Happy Run

After finishing the Happy Run yesterday, let me tell you that I am happy because I chose to be happy!

Our late arrival and check-in could have distracted me but I did not allow it. It was 41 seconds of the race based on the official timer when we crossed the starting line, but that was the time I pressed my watch to monitor my unofficial time.

I noticed the heavy turn-outs of jolly and happy runners. Many were first timers kidding each other. The race was well organized with dragon dancers, bands, km markers, marshals, ambulance and sufficient water stations. However, when I was approaching the finish line, the sight of long queue of finishers shocked me, very unlikely of Rio’s race. Nevertheless, I was still able to sprint until the finish line giving me unofficial time of 35:50. By the way, my official time is 36:31 and I ranked 129 out of 440 female runners. Quite an improvement for this old lady… hehehe… As to freebies, there were a great lot of them but queuing in several booths with long intertwining lines annoyed me a bit, sorry!

I met several friends like Kris, Nora and her family, Jenny, Jun and Atty. Aga, the father of Drew. We also had the opportunity to pose with Suzi Abrera who came in 38 seconds ahead of me.

happy run

happy run

finishing happy

finishing happy

kids with dad

kids with dad

with Suzi

with Suzi

with Atty Aga

with Atty Aga

happy couple with atty aga

happy couple with atty aga

happy family

happy family

with happy run sponsors

with happy run sponsors

one more pose before going home

one more pose before going home

12 responses to “Happy Run

  1. Congratulations Anna. BTW, I saw the photos on takbo.ph. Running has definitely helped you!

    Please take care and have a great week ahead!

    • Hi Wayne, thank you!

      My “before” photo is a thing of the past and I would not allow myself to grow that BIG again…especially now that I fell in love with running and I intend to embrace it for life…like what you are doing… thanks again, idol!

      take care too!

  2. Anna–you’re getting faster by the week! you now belong to the top 50% of all lady runners.

    keep it up!

    • Thank you, Rene! Happy na ko nyan, hahaha… when i started running kasi my only goal is to run fit for life…and not to run fast per race…hehehe…

  3. Question: Why is it that you were bigger than me before yet smaller than me now? We’re both running but you’re so thin and I’m so fat! (look at our picture in my blog for proof that I’m telling the truth)

    But for the record Anna, even with your “before” picture in takbo.ph, you still looked so pretty, cute and adorable to me (walang bola–peks man!)

    • Hi Nora,

      Thanks a lot! Kaibigan talaga kita! ha ha ha

      Please allow me to say that you are not so fat! Your legs are thinner than mine, kaya nga how I wish I will have legs like yours, in time and with more runs pa siguro ma-attain ko rin yan, ano?

  4. >But for the record Anna, even with your “before” picture in takbo.ph, you still looked so pretty, cute and adorable to me (walang bola–peks man!)<

    i agree, 100%!:-)

    • Hi Rene,

      Thank you! thank you! Nakakahiya nga yang tubby-girl pix na yan ah…buti na lang friends ko kayo hehehe

  5. Hi Anna, i was there last sunday but i didn’t run. It was really a great run. I envy you guys…

  6. i heard it was a well organized race… too bad naubusan ako ng race bib sa ROX. congrats for a nice race.

  7. Anna, thank you for posting our pics..it was really great seeing you with your family! sayang, i was not able to attend the last one in serendra! Again, keep up your healthy habits…. galing!!!!

Leave a Reply

