My First Trail Run at TNF 100

Yesterday, we left our hotel to visit the TNF Base Camp.  It was only a 10-minute drive.  But as we  reached the place, we were greeted with heavy rain and strong wind.  The TNF tents, signages and markers were all blown out and scattered on the ground.  What a pity for runners doing the 100K so I silently uttered a prayer for them and for good weather for this event.

This morning, there was no more rain but dark clouds covered the sky.  Again,  I asked the Lord for mercy and help while we were on our way to the Clark Expo.  I  prayed that He will keep us safe and for a good weather in our first trail run.   As we were checking-in, I noted the clear sky which gave me an assurance of  good and sunny weather ahead.

It was 5:44 when we were asked to go and run! At first, we ran in the parking lot going to the main road. It took us 1.2K before we were led to narrow trail under the bridge.  After landing, we got to experience running in the sand and lahar.    Just running a few meters, I asked Jun if we can stop as I have to remove the sand inside my shoes.  I was bothered with them.

Right after lahar run, we were treated with the river run as our next challenge.  It was  a pleasant experience despite my initial apprehension and worry that my shoes might get wet.

I was even successful to prevent my shoes from getting wet in the first few meters.  But as the race went through, there were several parts of the river we have to cross and I can no longer protect my shoes from getting wet, not even my socks.  I have to soak my feet to about 6 inches deep water level.  It was good I brought two pairs of spare socks.  When the marshal told Jun that the area we recently crossed was the deepest point of the river, I asked him to stop again for me to change my socks.  At this point, I noticed Taki running with his wife.

After that, we proceeded with our run but the again tasked to cross the river with even deeper water level.  This time, Jun and I agreed not to change socks until such time we were inside the dry part of the trail.  We continued running until we reached the muddy and slippery sides of the trail.  I was so happy and playful.  I felt I was a little child allowed to play in the wild.  I also felt I am gaining energy from the grasses, bushes and trees.  I was never tired.  We ran through various surface including stones and rocks.  There was also a big cow threatening the runners but I was so happy he did not pay attention to us when it was our turn to pass by him.

After our 7Km mark, we were instructed to run on the bridge measuring more than 1Km long but I was not able to get the exact measurement as my Garmin stopped.  I thought it was just drained battery but when I reached home and recharged it, I really cannot open it.   I do not know what to do with it  now.

Anyway, going back to my Sacobia account, we kept on running but decided to just enjoy running together with no pressure whatsoever.  We saw the route we ran under the bridge.  It was an amazing sight.  As we were just about 200 meters away the finish line, our daughter Faye approached us and told us to run faster as we were still within our target time.  So, we increased our pace and finished together.  I’m so happy of my first trail run!

By the way,   Faye finished 6th among 10k female runners.  I’m so proud of you my girl!

God is so good.

Going under the bridge, start of the trail

Going under the bridge, start of the trail

lahar country run

lahar country run

River running this time

River running this time

muddy and slippery

muddy and slippery

i love this grassy part

i love this grassy part

getting out of the trail

getting out of the trail

going back to the road

going back to the road

Finishing together

Finishing together

with my daughter faye, 6th female finisher in 10K

with my daughter faye, 6th female finisher in 10K

tmr, faye and bards (7th female finisher, congrats!)

tmr, faye and bards (7th female finisher, congrats!)

11 responses to “My First Trail Run at TNF 100

  1. Congratulations and nice pictures.

  2. hi congrats to you guys. looks like you really had fun on your first trail run. congrats to Faye also. she is one strong runner and will be getting stronger pa. ay, pa-grab ng photo ha. 🙂

    • bards,

      thanks so much! we enjoyed the race, the route & everything but your friendship tops it all…

  3. ms. anne, hindi tayo nagkita, although parang nakita ko ikaw kaso na-shy ako na lumapit. 🙂

    anyways, congrats sa trail run nyo, ambilis po pala ng anak nyo. ang enjoy ako at sali tayo ulit. kitakits. 🙂

  4. Anna– ibang level ka na talaga! Di na kita maabot nyan! Congratz to you, to Jun and Faye!

    • Thanks so much Rene. Nakaka-high talaga! Can’t really explain my feelings! Kaw man, you’re into this trail running for the longest time na…. peanuts lang tong sa kin compared to your accomplishments!

  5. Congratulations! your family is really something! Great pictures! Hope to see you soon! God is really good all the time!

  6. congratz to you mam & to your family !

    keep on running !!!!

Leave a Reply

