Just a thought…

I am about to write the deatils of my 2nd marathon which I successfully conquered yesterday but I was reminded of my daughter’s message to me which I want to share with fellow runners and friends alike.

ALAXAN. FRIEND OR FOE?
By Fayery

Kabilang sa malaking drug group na NSAIDS (Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drugs) ang Alaxan. It contains both Ibuprofen and Paracetamol na pawang mga COX-inhibitors. Kasama sa gruping ito ang Aspirin, Naproxen, Ketoprofen, Baclofen etc. basta ang suffix may profen! May tatlong klase ng COX. COX 1, COX 2, COX 3 specifically mediating specific responses to injury.

In its simplest sense, ang COX ay mga pathways na tinatarget ng mga drugs belonging to this class para hindi ma-release ang Prostaglandins. Ano ang Prostaglandin. Ito ay ang signal for pain na narerelease sa mga muscles kapag sila ay inflamed or damaged. So ayan. kaya sila ginagamit na pain reliever.

Kaso ang problema pumapasok kapag tulad ko, madalas kayo gumamit nito. Chronic use of NSAIDS trigger acute gastrointestinal bleeding, by chronic we mean at least more than a week at a time.

Pero ito na ang pasabog. Nakakasira din ito ng kidney!! Hindi lang yun, studies have shown that its use prior to a sporting event to prevent pain predisposes one to develop hyponatremia. Ano ang hyponatremia?? Nangyayari ito kapag sobra kang naghhydrate napupunta ang tubig mo sa brain, nagsswell ito na pwede mong ikamatay!! yes. may study sa New Zealand sa mga nag Iron Man. Gumamit sila ng NSAIDS one week before ang event at madami ang naging hyponatremic.

READ THIS

Renal damage, secondary to exercise-induced rhabdomyolysis in athletes taking NSAIDs, has been reported in several studies.(14-17) The risk of exertional rhabdomyolysis leading to renal failure has been shown to be greatly enhanced when consuming NSAIDs. Seven out of nine runners suffering from acute renal failure from exertional rhabdomyolysis during a marathon race had taken NSAIDs.(18) Four cases of acute renal failure were reported after an ultra-marathon, and all four had ingested NSAIDs.

Ano naman ang rhabdomyolysis? Ito ay yung state na kung saan yung waste products nang muscle breakdown mo na tinatawag na myoglobin ay napupunta sa ihi. Kaya ka magrerenal failure ay dahil sa kapag sobrang daming myoglobin, na-boblock sila sa mga maliliit na tubo sa loob ng kidney. In turn, hindi makapagfunction ag kidney ng maayos.

BOTTOM LINE: Allow our bodies to heal. Yung pamamaga ng kalamnan, sakit ng katawan, all these are our bodies own little ways of telling us to take time off, breathe and recuperate. After all, we only have one life so lets enjoy all of it!

“you know!”- Manny Pacquiao

4 responses to “Just a thought…

  1. Congratulations Anna! Inggit ako huhu…

    Anything in excess is bad for the body. Siguro, kung once a month ka lang iinom ng Alaxan, it wouldn’t hurt.

    The best for me is ice bath after a long distance race.

    I wear long sleeved shirt and jogging pants then get into the tub with ice and water covering only my feet. When I am already used to the cold temperature, I add ice. And so on until my whole body including neck is submerged in ice cold water. 3-4 packs of tube ice will suffice. I swear, I feel refreshed the following morning. Absolutely no pain, as if I didn’t run 32k. Sayang nga, didn’t do this after my marathon.

    • Hi Nora! Thank you! Next time, ikaw naman ha? Wow, ice bath? ang ginaw nyan ah…. In this recent marathon, I did not take any pain reliever and mind you, I was even able to go to work a day after. I am planning to have my recovery tomorrow naman. See you soon!

  2. Hayyy…its one of my so called “regular vitamins”, itong Alaxan FR. Tuwing sumasakit plantar ko, ito iniinom ko. have to regulate it na. Ingats!

Leave a Reply

