My 7th and 8th Full Marathons

As I crossed the finish line, I cannot even imagine that I did this crazy thing of finishing a 42.195K distance by foot again.  Well, I might be crazy but this proved that I can do a lot of things as long as I put my mind, heart and soul into it. 

I do not want to brag about this achievements but I know sharing these experiences will inspire those not so young people like me. Mind you, I will be turning golden girl very soon.

Last December 2, my husband, my two children and myself ran our full marathon and finished it well despite the very warm weather. My youngest kid, who just turned 18 yo conquered his first full marathon via TBR Dream Marathon last March. IN SG, we enjoyed the peaceful route, great hydration and warm cheers. It was a very enjoyable race despite the challenges along the way.

In February this year, my husband and I registered for the Condura Skyway Full Marathon, while my children opted to join the 21k instead. However, a week before the event, my husband suffered from injury which prevented him to run so I have to run the full marathon alone.

On 5 February, I decided to come early to the venue. Good, I saw Benson in the starting line. He kept me company before Dennis joined us around 11 pm. At exactly 12 MN, the race started but there were several waves. These waves were further divided into two or three batches. We were given 7 hours cut-off to finish it.

It was a very organized race with a lot of hydration stations and a portalet every so often. The Condura bigwigs, Ton and Patrick were there to mingle and support the runners. It was indeed an event designed and organized for the runners by the runners. Not to mention that it supported a very good cause of saving our planet earth and the environment especially the mangroves.

Thank you Lord for the gift of running and the gift of life. Praise God.

One response to “My 7th and 8th Full Marathons

  1. Go, go, go! As one runner has said: “We runners are all a little nutty, but we’re good people who just want to enjoy our healthy, primitive challenge. Others may not understand running, but we do, and we cherish it. That’s our only message.”

    If you’re free, join us on our fun run. It’s fiesta time in Cagayan de Oro, and the locals are celebrating a fresh start after Sendong. Aug. 25, 2013. Mark your calendar.

    http://www.abrownchanginglives.net

Leave a Reply

